Archive for Thursday, December 5, 2002

Pyle a finalist for Fontana football award

December 5, 2002

Eudora High's Andrew Pyle, a senior running back for the Cardinals, was a finalist for the Frank Fontana award, given to the Kansas City metro area's best small-school football player.

Willie Cashmore, St. Pius X, was named the winner during the Simone award ceremony Tuesday at Olathe North High School. Kansas City Chiefs player Deron Cherry presented the Fontana award. Other finalists were Lance Brandenburgh, St. Thomas Aquinas, and Seth Williams, Grain Valley.

Members of Pyle's family, Eudora coach Gregg Webb, some of the Eudora administration and former Cardinals coach Aaron Barnett attended the ceremony.

Pyle, an All-Frontier League running back, rushed for 2,053 yards this season.

Other awards given at the ceremony were the Simone, Buchanan and Bell awards.

The Thomas A. Simone Award, the most prestigious award in high school football in the Kansas City area, is given to the metro area's best players.

Previous winners of the individual Simone honor include 2001 Olathe North graduate Darren Sproles and 1994 Lawrence graduate Jason Thoren.

Olathe North's Jim Bouknight won the Simone, while Blue Springs' Bruce Ringwood won the Buck Buchanan award, given to the top KC metro lineman.

Mill Valley's Eric Pingleton, an All-Kaw Valley linebacker for the Jaguars, was a finalist for the Bobby Bell award, given to the top small-school lineman/linebacker. Pius X's Charlie Simone won in that category.

Olathe North coach Gene Wier was named the Kansas coach of the year, while Rockhurst coach Tony Severino was the Missouri coach of the year.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.