Archive for Thursday, September 7, 2006

Eudora students honored

September 7, 2006

Students from 17 Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday by the Kansas University Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 230 seniors from high schools in Douglas, Jefferson and Leavenworth counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at 7 p.m. in the Lied Center, 1600 Stewart Drive on the KU campus in Lawrence.

Eudora students include Amelia Bock, Mary Cox, Melissa Fernandez, Brittney Graff, Katelin Harrell, Kellian Harrell, Erryn Kindle, Desiree Marmon, Charles Mersmann, Kyle Plaice and Jessica Stewart.

The Kansas Honors Program began in 1971 and will honor its 100,000th student this year. Scholars rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior class and are selected regardless of curricula, major, occupational plans or higher-education goals.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary in hardback and CD versions, presented by Heath Peterson, director of Kansas Programs for the KU Alumni Association.

Stephen R. McAllister, professor of law, will speak to the students, their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend. The program is free.

For more information about the Kansas Honors Program, visit

Commenting has been disabled for this item.