Archive for Thursday, April 26, 2007

National Honor Society expands ranks

April 26, 2007

A group of 19 Eudora High School seniors, juniors and sophomores were inducted into the Eudora High School Chapter of the National Honor Society during a ceremony April 23 at Eudora Middle School. A potluck dinner in the commons area of the school preceded the induction ceremony.

To be eligible for membership consideration, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 through at least three semesters of high school. After qualifying for membership, students complete an application, listing their participation in community and school activities and organizations. The potential members must meet high standards of three specific areas: leadership, service and character. Faculty members then measure the student's three areas of qualification. A faculty council of four teachers appointed by the principal then uses the averaged scores to determine the new members.

NHS president Brittney Graff gave a welcome and introduction.

Eudora has inducted 311 members into the honor society since 1978.

EHS assistant principal Ron Abel was a member of the first induction class in 1978 and two of his children were inducted in the ceremony Monday.

Member Charles Mersmann began the candle ceremony by lighting the green candle, which represents scholarship. Secretary Mary Cox lit the gold candle for service. Two-year member Jessica Stewart lit the purple candle, representing leadership, and vice president Christina Pyle lit the red candle, representing character.

Treasurer Kellian Harrell lit the white candle, which represented truth and knowledge. Each of the new members lit their own candle from the white candle as Graff announced each new member. After reciting the pledge, those inducted were presented to the audience as this year's newest members.

New members include seniors Ashley Coffman, Katelin Harrell, Mason McCurdy and Katherine Stanley; juniors Matthew Abel, Morgan Abel, Catherine Klotz, Michelle Smith, Dustin True, Kayci Vickers and Heather Whitten; and sophomores Kendal Abel, Maxwell Campbell, Marian Mersmann, Breaer Miller, Rachel Pyle, Amber Reynolds, Callie Sanders and Mariah Webb.

Current two-year senior members are Mary Cox, Brittney Graff, Desiree Marmon, Christina Pyle and Jessica Stewart; seniors Joey Chino, Kellian Harrell, Charles Mersmann and Michael Whitten; and juniors Emily Ballock, Josh Blaisdell, Whitney Box, Jacob Cox, Connor Hartpence, Logan Hartpence and Kim Scherman.

Scott Keltner is the adviser for the National Honor Society.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.