Archive for Thursday, September 13, 2007

Scholar to be honored

September 13, 2007

Eudora High School seniors Emily Ballock, Anthony Barta, Chelsea Carnagie, Lauren Colman, Jacob Cox, Connor Hartpence, Logan Hartpence, Kimberly Scherman, Michelle Smith, Kayci Vickers and Heather Whitten are among the 244 seniors from 17 high schools in Douglas, Jefferson and Leavenworth counties who will be recognized as Kansas Honor Scholars by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment Association. The students will be recognized for their academic achievements at a reception at 7 p.m. Wednesday at the Lied Center in Lawrence.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary in hardback and CD versions, presented by Jennifer Sanner, senior vice president for communication for the KU Alumni Association.

Stephen McAllister, KU professor of law, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

More than 900 students received degrees from Kansas University after the 2006 summer session including Kathryn Capps, Rachel Dempsey, Peter Hickman, Jordan Rose, Easan Selvan and Nina Zuna, all of Eudora.

Because KU conducts only one formal commencement ceremony each year, many of the graduates will plan to return as members of the Class of 2008 to take part in commencement exercises in May.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.