Archive for Thursday, September 27, 2007

Honors Scholars recognized by KU alumni

September 27, 2007

A total of 244 seniors from 17 high schools in Douglas, Jefferson and Leavenworth counties were named Kansas Honor Scholars by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association and were recognized Sept. 19 in an awards ceremony at the Lied Center on the Kansas University campus.

Eudora students honored were Emily Ballock, Anthony Barta, Chelsea Carnagie, Lauren Colman, Jacob Cox, Connor Hartpence, Logan Hartpence, Kimberly Scherman, Michelle Smith, Kayci Vickers and Heather Whitten, all of Eudora High School and Sarah Heschmeyer, Lawrence High School.

Each student received an American Heritage Dictionary in hardback and CD versions, presented by Jennifer Sanner, senior vice president for communication for the KU Alumni Association.

The Kansas Honors Program began in 1971 and has honored more than 100,000 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes throughout the State of Kansas. The program is made possible through KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawklicense plate program.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.