Archive for Thursday, July 31, 2008

Polling places open Tuesday

Election 2008

Election 2008

July 31, 2008

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday for primary elections.

Polling places according to districts will be:

¢ District 50 (west Eudora) will vote at the Church of Christ, 1530 Winchester Road

¢ District 52 (north Eudora) will vote at Eudora City Hall, 4 E. 7th St.

¢ District 53 (south Eudora) will vote at the Eudora Township Fire Station, 310 E. 20th St.

¢ District 54 (central Eudora) will vote at the Eudora Community Center, 1630 Elm St.

Voters will cast their ballots in the following races:

National offices

¢ In the Democratic primary, Lee Jones, of Overland Park will face off against Jim Slattery, of Topeka.

¢ U.S. Sen. Pat Roberts runs unopposed in the Republican primary.

Kansas Legislature

In the 38th District Kansas House district, neither two-term incumbent Republican Anthony Brown of Eudora or Democratic candidate Stephanie Kelton of Lawrence face primary challenges. The story is the same in the 9th Senate District were incumbent Republican Roger Pine of Tonganoxie and Tom Holland, who served three years in the Kansas House, will be unopposed in the primary.

Douglas County Commission

In the 2nd District - which represents North Lawrence and much of southeast Lawrence and southeastern Douglas County, including the cities of Eudora and Baldwin City - there are four candidates for the seat held by Commission Chairman Bob Johnson, who is not seeking re-election:

¢ Ken Adkinson, of rural Eudora, and Nancy Thellman, of rural Lawrence, will compete in the Democratic primary. Adkinson, a retired owner and manager of a crop-production business in Eudora, is a member of the Eudora Planning and Zoning Commission. Thellman, a Presbyterian minister, is a leader of Citizens for Responsible Planning, an organization opposed to plans for an industrial park near Lawrence Municipal Airport.

¢ In the Republican primary, Grant Eichhorn, of rural Lawrence, goes up against David L. Brown, of rural Baldwin City. Eichhorn, owner of Lawrence-based Rueschoff Locksmiths and Security Systems, is a member of the Lawrence-Douglas County Planning Commission. Brown recently retired after 32 years with the Douglas County Sheriff's Office.

Other local races

These officeholders are running unopposed for re-election:

¢ Douglas County Sheriff Ken McGovern, a Republican elected in 2004.

¢ Douglas County Clerk Jamie Shew, a Democrat elected four years ago when longtime clerk Patty Jaimes did not seek re-election.

¢ Douglas County Treasurer Paula Gilchrist, a Democrat elected four years ago after running programs for the Salvation Army.

¢ Douglas County Register of Deeds Kay Pesnelll, a Democrat elected four years ago after being appointed to the job in 2002 upon retirement of longtime Register of Deeds Sue Neustifter.

¢ Douglas County District Attorney Charles Branson, a Democrat who first was elected four years ago.

For more information on voting in Douglas County or to see a sample ballot, visit


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.