Archive for Thursday, May 22, 2008

ECKCE meeting

May 22, 2008

The regular meeting of the East Central Kansas Cooperative in Education Board of Directors was May 14 at the Cooperative Central Office, located at 715 Chapel, Baldwin, Kansas.

Members present were Blaine Cone, Ande Parks, Susan Rader, Belinda Rehmer, Fred Schnoke and Caren Lowe, Director. Jim Martin was unable to attend.

Shannon Rasmussen was in attendance to answer questions from the Board regarding her request to move horizontally on the salary schedule based on a Montessori training program which does not confer college credits until completion of the three-year program. The Board later discussed the option and chose not to take action to approve movement without confirmed credits.

Rehmer made a motion to approve extended school year contracts for 16 certified staff members and eight paraeducators.

The Board also accepted the resignations of Sarah Harris, Rachel Padfield and Clara Smith.

The Board approved contracts for Mary Bessey, Elementary Gifted Facilitator; Barbara Colwell, EMS IRR teacher; Jennifer Gomez, EWE IRR teacher, Eloise Kerbs, EWE IRR teacher; Jeanne Reese, B-PC IRR teacher and Clara Smith, half-time Staff Development Facilitator.

The Board received an updated projection on district assessments for the 2009 fiscal year.

Lowe gave the Board information regarding action taken by the legislature impacting special education and a summary of paraeducator employment patterns over the current and past years.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.