Archive for Thursday, April 9, 2009

Eudora sports briefs

April 9, 2009

Epperson, Scott named to Journal-World first team

Eudora senior forward Haley Epperson and senior guard Bailey Scott have been selected to the Lawrence Journal-World girls basketball all-area first team. Epperson averaged 16 points and seven rebounds, and Scott averaged 11 points a game for the Cardinals.

Ballock named to Journal-World first team

Eudora junior guard Justin Ballock has been selected to the Lawrence Journal-World boys basketball all-area first team. Ballock averaged 15 points per contest this season for Eudora.

Epperson, Scott named all-state

Eudora senior Haley Epperson was named first-team all state. Senior guard Bailey Scott was named honorable mention all-state.

Luke wins Journal-World coach of the year honor

Eudora girls basketball coach Ryan Luke has been named the Lawrence Journal-World’s area high school coach of the year.

In his fourth season as coach at Eudora, Luke helped lead the Eudora girls basketball team to a sub-state championship and to the state tournament. Eudora finished the season with a 16-8 record.

Salzman named to Journal-World all-area first team

Eudora junior Cody Salzman has been named to the Lawrence Journal-World’s all-area wrestling first team. The 112-pound Salzman finished the season with 33 wins and placed sixth at the state tournament in Salina.

EHS boys basketball awards announced

Numerous awards were given to the Eudora High boys basketball team at its annual banquet. Awards given were, Co-MVP, Justin Ballock and Michael Bricker; Leadership Award, Cody Carlson; Mr. Hustle, Kyle Swanson and Hawley Montgomery; Most Improved, Drew Noble. Senior Kyle Swanson made the academic all-state team.

Eudora Wrestling awards announced

The following awards were given to Eudora wrestlers at the team’s banquet. MVP Award, Boomer Mays; Don Abel Inspiration Award, Max Campbell; Pins Award, Dalton Hladky; Takedowns Award, Boomer Mays; Nearfall Award, Ethan Becker; Reversals Award, Ethan Becker; Newcomer Award, Dylan Litherland; Freshman Award, Lucas Becker.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.