Archive for Thursday, July 23, 2009

Chamber changes meetings

July 23, 2009

When Doug Mateo noticed attendees of Eudora Chamber of Commerce meetings were looking at their watches instead of their agendas, he and other members of the chamber decided a change was needed.

After surveying other chambers throughout the area about the format of their meetings and noting a consensus among current members that meetings were running long, the Eudora Chamber voted unanimously Thursday to begin meeting twice a month instead of just once.

The chamber currently meets at 11:30 a.m. on the third Thursday of every month. That meeting includes reports from the city and the school district.

Those reports and other logistical and operational discussion now will take place at a second meeting, which will be led by board members, the secretary/treasurer, the past president, current president and president elect. The meeting will occur at a time yet to be decided on the first Thursday of each month.

The meeting on the third Thursday will include more opportunities for networking and education, and also could be scheduled for various times to foster participation from more members.

The change will occur in September.

The chamber also voted unanimously to increase the term of chamber presidents from one to two years.

“By the time you get the hang of how things run, your term is over,” said Mateo, who is past president.

The current board members of the chamber are Donna Oleson, Kathy Brecheisen and Ryan Roberts. They will continue to serve for three-years. Denise Davis is the secretary/treasurer, Amy Durkin is the current president and Jeff Peterson is president elect for 2010.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.