Archive for Thursday, July 26, 2007

Students win Kansas University scholarships

July 26, 2007

The Dole Institute of Politics at the University of Kansas recently announced 128 new Sen. Robert J. Dole Public Service Scholars for the 2007-08 academic year.

The recipients, all 2007 Kansas high school graduates, represent the largest class of Dole scholars since the program began in 2005. Funded by NASA, the scholarships are distributed among the state's four congressional districts to ensure the broadest statewide participation.

Students from Eudora High School recognized were Charles Mersmann and Mary Cox, who both plan to attend Kansas State University; and Christina Pyle, who plans to attend Kansas University.

Recipients receive a $1,000 scholarship, renewable for three years, and commit to completing 100 hours of civic activities annually. Kansas high school seniors who have volunteered in community and public service in their communities and who have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale are eligible.

The new scholars were formally announced during a June luncheon meeting at the Dole Institute.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.